Best Twin Mattress for Kids · Bunk Beds

Best Twin Mattress for Bunk and Loft Beds

For a bunk or loft bed, start with a thin mattress that stays under the maximum thickness in your bed’s manual: our top pick is the 5-inch Lucid Gel Memory Foam. Federal rule 16 CFR 1513 requires the guardrail’s upper edge to sit at least 5 inches above the mattress, measured with the thickest mattress the maker allows. That number matters more than any feature on the mattress, and any topper or pad counts toward it.

General information, not medical advice

Plain wooden kids bunk bed with low-profile mattresses and a guardrail on the upper bunk, warm window light

Our top 3

Top picks at a glance

Best overall for bunks#1
Lucid 5-Inch Gel Memory Foam mattress

Lucid 5-Inch Gel Memory Foam

Budget price range

A 5-inch firm profile with a 100-night brand trial listed, and Lucid says it suits bunk beds.

View twin options ›
Best washable cover#2
Milliard 5-Inch Memory Foam mattress

Milliard 5-Inch Memory Foam

Budget price range

Thin, 17 pounds and machine-washable, which is rare at this height. It runs an inch short at 74 inches long.

View twin options ›
Best foam-free#3
Newton Baby Kids' Twin mattress

Newton Baby Kids’ Twin

Mid-range price range

A 5.5-inch polymer core with no foam or coils, designed for kids up to 100 pounds.

View twin options ›

In detail

Who each one suits

Specifications are each brand’s or retailer’s own; notes draw on pediatric and government guidance and independent reviews. We did not test these mattresses.

Best overall for bunks#1

Lucid 5-Inch Gel Memory Foam

At 5 inches, this is thin enough for most bunk and loft manuals, and it is one of the few low-profile options that lists a firm feel and a trial. Lucid says it suits bunk beds. The foam includes bamboo charcoal, and the brand lists it as CertiPUR-US.

Why it stands out

  • Low 5-inch profile, sold in a firm variant.
  • Lucid lists a 100-night trial and 10-year limited warranty on US purchases.
  • Shipped rolled, with 24 to 48 hours to expand according to the brand.
Height5 in
TypeGel memory foam
Feel (brand)Firm
CertificationsCertiPUR-US
CoverDo not remove, spot clean

Good fit if

  • You have a top bunk or loft bed with a tight maximum mattress thickness.
  • You want a firm surface at a Budget price.
  • You will carry it up a ladder and want low bulk.

Skip it if

  • You need a removable cover: Lucid says spot clean, do not remove.
  • A heavier teen will use it for years; thin cores are more prone to sagging, Sleep Foundation says.
Best washable cover#2

Milliard 5-Inch Memory Foam

A 5-inch mattress with something most thin mattresses do not have: a removable, machine-washable cover. At 17 pounds it is also easy to lift. Today’s Parent rates it for bunk beds. The catch is length: Milliard lists 74 inches, an inch shorter than a standard twin.

Why it stands out

  • 1 inch of memory foam over 4 inches of base foam, sold as firm.
  • Removable, machine-washable polyester cover.
  • CertiPUR-US foam, according to Milliard.
Height5 in
TypeMemory foam
Feel (brand)Firm
CertificationsCertiPUR-US
CoverRemovable, machine washable

Good fit if

  • You want a washable cover on a very thin mattress.
  • It is for a trundle, daybed or bunk.
  • You need to lift it often.

Skip it if

  • You want a trial or a stated warranty: neither is listed.
  • Your frame needs a full 75 inches.
Best foam-free#3

Newton Baby Kids’ Twin

Newton skips foam and coils altogether. The core is Wovenaire, a food-grade polymer that Newton says is about 90% air, and the brand says the whole mattress can be washed, core included. It is 5.5 inches thick and arrives in three core pieces. Sleep Foundation rates it firm and The Bump picks it for allergies, though that is an editor’s view and not a medical one.

Why it stands out

  • Airflow is the design goal, and there is no foam to hold heat.
  • GREENGUARD Gold certified by UL.
  • Newton lists a 100-night trial, a limited 10-year warranty on the core and 2 years on the cover.
Height5.5 in
TypeWovenaire polymer core, no foam or coils
Feel (brand)Firm
CertificationsGREENGUARD Gold
CoverZip-off, machine washable, water resistant

Good fit if

  • You want the whole mattress washable, not just the cover.
  • You need a low profile for a bunk or trundle.
  • You want a foam-free surface for a young child.

Skip it if

  • Your child is near 100 pounds: Newton designs it for kids up to that weight.
  • You want waterproofing: it is water resistant and Newton suggests a waterproof pad.
  • You want a plush feel.
Also worth a look

MLILY JAMA Kids 5-Inch

One of the few budget mattresses designed for kids rather than sized down from an adult model. MLILY says the JAMA is for ages 3 and up and lists trundles and the floor as fits. It also lists bunk beds, but federal rules require a warning against children under 6 on an upper bunk. The zip-off blue modal cover is washable, and an anti-slip bottom helps keep it in place.

Why it stands out

  • Zip-off washable cover at a Budget price.
  • CertiPUR-US foams and an OEKO-TEX Standard 100 cover, according to MLILY.
  • Light for a mattress at about 21 pounds, per the brand, so it is easy to move and air out.
Height5 in
TypeGel memory foam
Feel (brand)Medium
CertificationsCertiPUR-US foams, OEKO-TEX Standard 100
CoverZip-off, washable, anti-slip bottom

Good fit if

  • Your child is 3 or older and you want a low bed.
  • Accidents are likely, and a washable cover matters.
  • You want a kids’ product at a Budget price.

Skip it if

  • Your child is under 3: MLILY sets 3 and up.
  • You want a firm surface: MLILY rates it medium.
  • You want warranty terms up front: the product page does not state one.
Also worth a look

Zinus 6-Inch Green Tea

The classic low-cost starter: 1 inch of memory foam over 5 inches of base foam, in a box. Retail specs call it medium, though the same Home Depot page also says firm, and a twin carries up to 250 pounds. Zinus no longer lists the 6-inch on its own site, so check that the listing is current before you buy.

Why it stands out

  • A 6-inch height that fits many bunk and trundle manuals.
  • CertiPUR-US foam, according to retailers.
  • A 10-year limited warranty per Home Depot; Sleep Foundation says Zinus ties its warranty to authorized sellers.
Height6 in
TypeMemory foam
Feel (brand)Medium
CertificationsCertiPUR-US foam
CoverPoly jacquard

Good fit if

  • You want the lowest-risk first big-kid mattress from a big-name brand.
  • You have a guest or sleepover twin to fill.
  • You want all foam with no coils.

Skip it if

  • Your child is a heavier older kid: the comfort layer is only 1 inch.
  • You need a removable cover.
  • You want fiberglass-free in writing: this older listing does not state it, and Sleep Foundation says older Zinus models used fiberglass.
Also worth a look

Linenspa 6-Inch Innerspring

A plain, low-cost coil mattress with a firm feel, and that is exactly why it works as a starter twin. Comfort foam is quilted into the cover over steel coils, so there is no thick memory foam layer. Linenspa says it suits bunk beds, trundles and daybeds. Medical News Today and Today’s Parent both list it.

Why it stands out

  • One of the lowest-cost coil options in the Budget range.
  • Most sources call it firm; Linenspa says both “firm feel” and “medium-firm”.
  • CertiPUR-US foam and a 10-year limited warranty on US purchases, according to Linenspa.
Height6 in
TypeInnerspring
Feel (brand)Firm to medium-firm
CertificationsCertiPUR-US foam
CoverQuilted, spot clean only

Good fit if

  • You want an inexpensive firm first twin for a young child.
  • You want a spring feel, not foam.
  • A 6-inch mattress fits your trundle or bunk manual (upper bunks are for age 6 and up).

Skip it if

  • You want thick cushioning for an older child.
  • You need a washable cover: Linenspa says do not remove it.

Measure before you order

Find the maximum mattress thickness in your bed’s manual, then check it against the rail. Height and materials are on the product page.

Read parent reviews ›

Tips

Three things that make the difference

01

Read the manual

Federal rules require bunk bed instructions to state the mattress size and the maximum thickness. One DHP loft bed manual, for example, caps it at 6 inches. Treat that as a limit, not a suggestion.

02

Count everything on top

Nationwide Children’s says guardrails need to extend at least 5 inches above the mattress top, counting any added pads. A thick protector or topper can use up your margin.

03

Set the age rule

Federal rules require a warning not to let children under 6 use the upper bunk. A Nationwide Children’s study estimated nearly 36,000 bunk-related emergency cases a year in the US.

Honest note

Thin mattresses have limits. Sleep Foundation says thin cores are more prone to sagging, and that thin mattresses often feel firmer to children under 130 pounds. If a heavier teen will use the bed for years, a 5-inch mattress may not last as long as a thicker one, so check the bunk’s limit before you size up.

FAQ

Questions people ask

What size mattress fits a bunk bed?

Most kids’ bunks take a twin, 38 by 75 inches, but check yours: federal rules require the instructions to state the intended size, in numbers or terms such as twin or twin XL. Milliard’s twin is 74 inches long, so a very snug frame may leave a small gap that you should check.

How thick can a bunk bed mattress be?

The manual sets the limit. Federal rules do not set one number for every bed, but they require the guardrail to sit at least 5 inches above the mattress. Sleep Foundation suggests 6 to 7 inches, Newton Baby lists 5 to 6 for twin bunks, and one DHP manual caps it at 6.

What age is safe for the top bunk?

Six or older. Federal rules require bunk bed instructions to warn against letting children under 6 use the upper bunk. Newton Baby suggests waiting until about 6 to 8. A Nationwide Children’s study in Pediatrics found half of bunk-related emergency cases involved children under 6.

Does a bunk bed need a special mattress?

Not a special type, just the right size and height. Sleep Foundation says all-foam mattresses tend to suit bunks because they are light and quiet, and that low-profile models work well on bunk and trundle beds. Check what the frame’s slats need; Modway, for example, says slats must be under 3 inches apart.

Do the rules cover loft beds?

The federal definition does not name loft beds. It defines a bunk bed as one where the underside of any foundation is over 30 inches from the floor, which many loft beds would meet. Loft bed manuals, such as DHP’s, carry the same warnings about mattress thickness and children under 6.

Can I use a mattress topper on a bunk bed?

Only if you keep the guardrail clearance. Nationwide Children’s says to count added pads when measuring that 5 inches above the mattress top. If a topper puts the surface too high, choose a thinner mattress or skip the topper.

Pick for the guardrail first, the mattress second

Want the full picture? See our best twin mattress for kids, compared by age and bed, and the FAQ on firmness, certifications and cleanup.